FULL LIST: NAMA Awards 2022 winners, surprises

A superb and greatly upgraded gala was the major focus of the 20th National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) ceremony, which was eventually held in Zimbabwe's capital on Saturday night.

HARARE – A superb and greatly upgraded gala was the major focus of the 20th National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) ceremony, which was eventually held in Zimbabwe’s capital on Saturday night.

Running under the theme “AmaLevels” the biggest awards festival in the country proved its mettle that it has ascended to great heights which cannot be matched by ordinary efforts.

The much anticipated NAMA Awards 2022 returned to the big stage with a different taste after plans to hold the annual awards ceremony were shelved in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A lot happened within that short space of time with the biggest highlight being the death of dancehall chanter Soul Jah Love.

In order to honour his rich legacy, NAMA put a glitzy performance at HICC through a mashup of his discography through Enzo Ishall, Kadijah and others.

The awards saw dancehall sensation Nutty O winning two accolades to cap a successful year while Janet Manyowa proved her mettle as a force to be reckoned with after winning Outstanding Female Musician.

Dancehall chanter Winky D retained his People’s Choice to underline his status as the most loved artist in Zimbabwe at the moment.

Here is the complete NAMA Awards 2022 winners list:
Outstanding Female Dancer
  • Lisa Magwenzi (Love shouldn’t hurt)
  • Lorin Sibanda (Footprints) (Winner)
  • Ndomupeishe Chipendo (Shuwa)
Outstanding Male Dancer
  • Devante Sanganza (My Passion for dance) (Winner)
  • John Cole (Gotta Feeling)
  • Tichaona Chikara (Purpose Driven)
Outstanding Dance Choreographer
  • Mishael Ndlovu (Most High)
  • John Cole (Loyal) (Winner)
  • Hillary Indie (Tipei Ndiro)
Outstanding Dance Group
  • Ezimnyama Ensemble (Hope)
  • Umkhathi Theatre (Footprints) (Winner)
  • Elysium Magna Dance Theatre (Tipei Ndiro)
Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work
  • Yadeuka Haichahorereke by Keith Zenda
  • Free at Last by Keith Zenda
  • Domination by Joseph Nyakwenga (Winner)
Outstanding 3 Dimensional
  • Nhumbu by Tatenda Gwarada (Winner)
  • Tears of Happy by Blesssing Mutukwa
  • Bundle of Joy by Farai Tandi
  • My Music Drum by Simelokuhle Zibengwa
Outstanding Mixed Media
  • Do not destroy us by Rickson Zavare (Winner)
  • Garandichauya Series 3 by Prudence Chimutuwah
  • Restoration by  Forbes Mushipe
Outstanding Exhibition
  • No Nominees
Outstanding Poet
  • Obert Dube (Winner)
  • Kuda Rice
  • Tanyaradzwa Emily Ngundu
Outstanding Comedian
  • Theophilus Gabriel Chigumira
  • Hidden Sibanda (Winner)
  • Kudzai Chengedza

 Special Mention: Mthokozisi Ncube

Social Media Skits
  • Tarisai Cleopatra Chikocho aka Madam Boss (Winner)
  • Prosper Ngomashi aka Comic Pastor
  • Kingsley Kaisi aka KingsleeZW
Outstanding Journalist – Print
  • Sithokozile Sibanda – Ilanga (Winner)
  • Kennedy Nyavaya – Standard
  • Yvonne Ncube – Chronicle
Outstanding Journalist – Radio
  • Monica Chanda aka Moechanda  – Classic263
  • Rumbidzai Mugwira aka Chamvari  – Power FM  (Winner)
  • Power FM Phathisani Sibanda & Tinashe Chikuse – Power FM
Outstanding Journalist – Television
  • Collette Musanyera – ZBC
  • Patience Nyagato   –  ZBC
  • Barney Mupariwa  –  ZBC (Winner)
Outstanding Journalist – Online Media
  • Amazing Voices  – Nonkululeko Dube aka AmardZW (Winner)
  • SoProfound – Arnold Chirimuka
  • Earground  –  Plot Mhako

Special Mention:

Nash TV

Outstanding Actor 
  • Shawn Mundawarara (Choosing Sam)
  • Cedric Musongwelwa (Deathbed) (Winner)
  • Tafadzwa Bob Mutumbi (The Good Minister from Kunyarara)
Outstanding Actress
  • Munyaradzi Guramatunhu (How are you really?)
  • Eyahra Mathaiza (How are you really?)
  • Rumbidzai Karize (Deathbed) (Winner)

Special Mention:

Patricia Putsai (Bleeding wounds)

Outstanding Theatrical Production
  • Deathbed by Savanna Trust
  • Improvisational show at Oak Tree by Under The Influence Theatre
  • How are you really? by Talisma Theatre Company (Winner)
Outstanding Director
  • Norbert Makoche (Bleeding wounds)
  • Elizabeth Zaza Muchemwa (How are you really?) (Winner)
  • Teddy Mangava (Deathbed)
Outstanding First Creative Published Work
  • Bringing us back by Mercy Dhliwayo [Vhokololo Press] (Winner)
  • Diaspora Dreams by Andrew Chatora [Kharis Publishing]
  • Umkhosi Wabangela Mazwi by Pretty Ndlovu [Ukhozi Publishers]
 Outstanding Children’s Book
  • The Cursing Tortoise by Onwald Gwiriri [Essential Books Publishing Company] (Winner)
  • Auntie Mazvita by Tinashe Muchuri [Essential Books Publishing Company] 
  • Tim’s Adventure in the Chocolate World by Chris Martin Lebolang [Hoart Benom Pty Publishing]

Special Mention:

  • ConvergenceZW by Mgcini Nyoni [Mgcini Nyoni]
  • Dear Eternal Mom by Kuda Mucharambeyi [Soar Publishers]
Outstanding Fiction Book
  • Mboni by Abraham Makamera [Progressive Publishers]
  • All Comes to Dust by Bryony Rheam [amaBooks] (Winner)
  • Sirens: Tales of Youth and Love by Leroy Mthulisi Ndlovu [Leroy Mthulisi Ndlovu]
Outstanding Poetry Book
  • Oasis in crisis by Ruth Tsopotsa [Ancient Pageant] 
  • For women Trying to breath and failing (It’s not your fault) by Batsirai Chigama [Ntombekhaya Poetry] (Winner)
  • Who killed Grandfather? by Kwanele Khumalo [Underclass Books and Films]
Outstanding Actor
  • Kumbilani Ncube as Khalu in Ikasi: The Hood (Winner)
  • Eddie Sandifolo as Maso in Poor Cousins
  • Michael Kudakwashe Dzevamwe as Matsa in Kugara Nhaka Kuona
Outstanding Actress
  • Bathabile Dlamini as Blessing in Poor Cousins (Winner)
  • Thelmar Mukonza as Feli in Sister Dhokezi
  • Felistas Tizola Officials as Immaculate in Two Dead Government
Outstanding Music Video
  • Nhoroondo Directed by Vusa”Blaqs” Hlatshwayo ft. Jah Prayzah
  • Rainmaker Directed by Kalai Faye Barlow ft. Djembe Monks (Winner)
  • Move Together Directed by Jonathan Samukange ft. Desert Sessions
Outstanding Screen Production (Television)
  • Kuchina The Genesis Directed by Bless Gatsi
  • Gazaland Police Directed by Lucky Aaron
  • Chipo the Gift Directed by Daves Guzha (Winner)
Outstanding Screen Production (Short Film)
  • Ikasi: The Hood Directed by Mzingaye Ngwabi (Winner)
  • Mlamu Wami Directed by Raisedon Baya
  • Nehanda Directed by Sydney Taivavashe
Outstanding Screen Production (Full Length Film)
  • Gonarezhou Directed by Sydney Taivavashe
  • Poor Cousins Directed by Sydney Taivavashe (Winner)
  • Veza: The Unfolding Directed by Dumie Manyathela
Outstanding New Comer
  • Felistas Chipendo aka Feli Nandi
  • Sandra Sibanda
  • Herman Mpelo Mukombe
  • Day Tawanda Ncube aka DT Bio Mudimba (Winner)
Outstanding Female Musician
  • Janet Manyowa (Winner)
  • Felistas Chipendo aka Feli Nandi
  • Dorcas Moyo
  • Gemma Griffiths
Outstanding Male Musician
  • Mukudzei Mukombe aka Jah Prayzah
  • Simbarashe Carrington Chiwadzwa aka Nutty O (Winner)
  • Rockford Josephat aka Roki
  • Emergy Chizanga aka Freeman
Outstanding Song
  • Kujata-Jata by Day Tawanda Ncube aka DT Bio Mudimba
  • Munyaradzi by Mukudzei Mukombe aka Jah Prayzah
  • Hello Mwari by Rodney Mashandure aka  Jah Master (Winner)
  • Handipere Power by Simbarashe Carrington Chiwadzwa aka Nutty O
Outstanding Album
  • Hokoyo by Mukudzei Mukombe aka Jah Prayzah 
  • Sounds of Victory by Janet Manyowa
  • Mustard Seed by Simbarashe Carrington Chiwadzwa aka Nutty O (Winner)
  • 5136 Born in Highfield by Trevor Dongo
Promoter Of The Year
  • X-Mo Squad
  • Bira Remadzisahwirwa 
  • Gateway Stream (Winner)
Outstanding Artist In The Diaspora
  • Arnold Tongai Chirisa (Winner)
  • Awakhiwe Sibanda aka Awa Khiwe 
  • Zandile Mazithulela aka DJ Zandimaz
People’s Choice Award   
  • Dorcas Moyo
  • Nutty O
  • Madam Boss
  • Tamy Moyo
  • Winky D (Winner)
Wilson Chipangura
Wilson Chipangura
Articles: 46

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *