FULL LIST: NAMA Awards 2020 winners, surprises

The 19th edition of the National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) finally took place in the capital on Saturday night with a standard and much improved banquet being the main highlight.

HARARE – The 19th edition of the National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) finally took place in the capital on Saturday night with a standard and much improved banquet being the main highlight.

The awards ceremony ran under the theme ‘Taking It Back To The People’ and the post-ceremony reaction proves without doubt NAMA achieved their main aim.

There were many big winners on the night such as comedian Long John, Hip Hop star T Gonzi, female artist Tammy Moyo and the popular extraterrestrial force Winky D.

Hip Hop star T Gonzi was one of the big winners  at NAMA
Hip Hop star T Gonzi was one of the big winners at NAMA
  • Here is the full list of winners and nominees for different categories compiled by RosGwen24 News

SPOKEN WORD AWARDS —Outstanding Poet 

Tanaka Effort Chuma

Sithembile Siqhoza Ndebele aka Zingizwanizinja

Tatenda Murigo 

Outstanding Comedian 

*Learnmore Mwanyenyeka aka Long John – (Winner)

Hubert Dumisani Ndlovu aka MaFortyAndrew Manyika 

LITERARY ARTS AWARDS —Outstanding First Creative Published Book 

Hatiponi by Oscar Gwiriri [Progressive Booksellers & Publishers]

*A People’s Fight by Fradreck Hombiro [Hombiro Media Company] – (Winner)

Nharo Dzemusango by Chenjerai Mazambani [Bhabhu Books] 

—Special Mention 

Ensukwini Zalamhla by Onesimo Mpofu [Onesimo Mpofu] 

—Outstanding Children’s Book 

*Songs of the Little Creatures by Phumulani Chipandambira [Chipandambira Archives] – (Winner)

Chitima Nditakure by Oscar Gwiriri [Progressive Booksellers & Publishers]

Kuku Wins the President’s Clean Environment Award by Aleck Kaposa [Essential Books Publishing Company] 

Outstanding Fiction Book 

Shasha Dzokurera by Marcilyn Mugariri [Marcilyn Mugariri]

Chasing the Wind by Phillip Chidavaenzi [Royalty Books]

*Out of Darkness, Shining Light by Petina Gappah [Scribner] – (Winner) 

Outstanding Poetry Book 

Rhyme and Resistance by Stanley Mushava [Underclass books and Films]

Under My Skin by Prince Rayanne Chidzvondo [Prince Rayane Chidzvondo]

*Agringanda Like a Gringa Like a Foreigner by Tariro Ndoro [Modjaji Books] – (Winner) 

—Special Mention 

Nhambetambe by Phumulani Chipandamira [Chipandambira Archive] 


—Outstanding Actor 

*Ronald Madodana Sigeca in Imbokodo – (Winner)

Anthony Mazhetese in The Gang Leader

Ngonidzashe Chikowore in Inside out

Liberty Mwenje Mthole in Inside out 

—Outstanding Actress 

Davina Green in The Gang leader

*Charmaine Mudau in Imbokodo – (Winner)

Agnes Ncube in Imbokodo 

—Outstanding Theatrical Production 

The Gang Leader by Zim Theatre Academy

*Bongile by Chiedza Makwara – (Winner)

Imbokodo by Nhimbe Trust 

—Outstanding Director 

*Yeukai Yvonne Chandiposha of Bongile – (Winner)

Teddy Mangawa of Gang Leader

Norbert Makoche of Imbokodo 


—Outstanding Female Dancer 

Michelle Msopero in Sobahle

Lynsey Nyamakwenje in Infinite Possibilities

*Dadirai Mupandawana in Ezimnyama Dance Group – (Winner) 

—Outstanding Male Dancer 

Tawanda Tanaka Fireyi in My journey to the International Scene

Tichaona Chikara in Hero’s +

*Selemani Mpochi aka Majuice in Ochestra Mberikwazvo – (Winner) 

—Outstanding Dance Group 

*No nominees 

—Outstanding Choreographer 

*No nominee 


—Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work 

*Cyclone Idai where is Mommy? by Calvin Chimutuwah – (Winner)

Revolutionary Freshness by Talent Kapadza

Focusing on Green Economy by Webster Mubayirenyi 

—Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work

My Sister Loves Me by Rufaro Murenza

Ancestral Family by Nichodimus T. Mutasa

Tribute to the mother of Generations by Stanley Mutanga 

—Outstanding Mix Media Work 

Kurima Hohwa by Victor Nyakauru

*Distorted History by Anthony Bumhira – (Winner)

Rehab Queen by Calvin Chimutuwah 

—Outstanding Exhibition 

Pieces for Peace, Pieces, Revolutionary Freshness by Talent Kapadza & Schuma Herscovitz

Purple Rhythm by Calvin and Prudence Chimutuwah

Engaging the 45th Year by Helen Leroys 


—Outstanding Actress 

Charmaine Mudau as Bonke in Another wedding

*Antoinette Sango as Thandi in Mandla – (Winner)

Sarah Mpofu Sibanda as Thalitha in Home Affairs 

—Outstanding Actor 

Godfrey Chivese as Mile in The Call

Brian Chitongo as Mandimutsa in Kuchina the Genesis

*Percy Soko as Mandla in Mandla – (Winner)  

—Outstanding Music Video 

Tichichema Produced by Edible Elevens ft. Ammara Brown

*Sunshine City Produced by Kalai Faye Barlow ft. Flying Bantu – (Winner)

Kure (remix) Produced by Kudzai Maneswa ft. Ishan

Bless Produced by Kalai Faye Barlow ft Ammy and The Calamities  

—Outstanding Screen Production (Television Series) 

Muzita Rababa Directed by Shem Zemura

Dudzai Directed by Farai Mungoshi

*Mandla Directed by Solomon Mandaza – (Winner)

Special mention

Pink and Purple Directed by Mthabisi Onias Ndlovu  

—Outstanding Screen Production – Short Film 

*Redefining the Road Directed by Tapiwa Gambira – (Winner)

The Call Directed by Godfrey Chivese

Home Affairs Directed by Elton Sibanda  

—Outstanding Screen Production – Full Length Film 

S’mbimbindo 3 Directed by Von Tavaziva

*Stay with Me Directed by Nick Zemura -(Winner)

$400 Directed by Kudzai Chikomo 


—Outstanding Journalist – Print 

Kundai Marunya – Herald

Prince Tungamirai Mushawevato – Sunday Mail

Tafadzwa Kachiko – Newsday  

—Outstanding Journalist – Radio 

*Anesu Masamvu – ZiFM – (Winner)

Yvonne Tivatye – Star FM

Thulani Munyandu – National FM  

—Outstanding Journalist – Television

Patience Nyagato – ZBC

Alexio Gwenzi – ZBC

*Masceline Bondamakara – ZBC – (Winner)  

—Outstanding Online Media


*Zimbojam – (Winner)

3 Men on a Boat 


—Outstanding Newcomer: 

*Isheanesu Chigagura aka Ishan – (Winner)

Panganayi Hare

Ngonidzashe Dondo aka King 98  

—Outstanding Female Musician: 

*Thamsanqa Moyo aka Tammy Moyo – (Winner)

Janet Manyowa

Ammara Brown 

—Outstanding Male Musician: 

Wallace Chirumiko aka Winky D

Darlington Katsetsa aka Mambo Dhuterere

Tinashe Gonzara aka Ti Gonzi – (Winner) 

—Outstanding Album: 

*Uhuru by Willis Kachambwa aka Willis Wataffi – (Winner)

Dare Guru by Darlington Katsetsa aka Mambo Dhuterere

Gango by Energy Chizanga aka Freeman 

—Outstanding Song: 

Ngaibake by Freeman ft Alick Macheso

*Kure by Ishan ft Ti Gonzi – (Winner)

Mugarden by Winky D ft Gemma Griffiths

Mweya Ndisesekedze by Mambo Dhuterere 


—Promoter of the Year: 

*D & G Promotions – (Winner)

Big Scale Entertainment

Ngoma NeHosho 

—Artist in the Diaspora: 

*Vusa Mkhaya – (Winner)

Tapfuma Charles Katedza aka Charlie Kay

Gemma Griffiths

Norah Chipaumire 

—Arts Personality of the Year: 

*Nobuntu (Winner) 

—Service to the Arts: 

*Dr Solomon Guramatunhu 

—Lifetime Achievement: 

*Mbuya Stella Chiweshe 

—People’s Choice Award: 

*Wallace Chirumiko aka Winky D (Winner) 

RosGwen24 News
RosGwen24 News
Articles: 2765

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *